back to fic index

 

 

TITLE: Apology

FIRST PUBLISHED: Apr 23, 2012

SUMMARY: "Many times I have lifted my pen to write to you"-SH. Another of those times. After the Return, reflecting on the Hiatus. This is the 'original' Holmes, from ACD's stories, but it is sort of inspired by Sherlock. If that makes any sense.

oOo

I never expected it to come to this.

Or perhaps I was afraid
That you would die
And it wasn't him who did it, it was I
I sent the note that took you out of harm
and now I watch you as you mourn

The best and wisest man you ever knew—
come on, now, what a laugh.
I tricked you, left you,
all alone.
And there's nothing you can say to change the facts.

I hold my pen above the virgin sheets
and let the brown ink curl across like blood
and in my mind I tell you all I've done
but all I can write is your name—
John. John. John.

I traveled through the mountains of Tibet
or maybe it's a lie (I've done that,
sometimes, don't make me a hero.
I never said I was.)
and let me tell you something: they're not worth it without you.

I sometimes think I might be running
but then I wonder what I'm running from
and I think it might be you.
you are "grit in a sensitive instrument."
or maybe I'm an oyster? Then we'd make a pearl.

I search around the globe for Moriarty's men
its caution, but I was never cautious in my life.
not like this.
Maybe I just never met someone so frightening before.
And I'm not talking about Moriarty.

Sometimes, in the farthest wastes,
I turn around to ask you something
before I realize you aren't here.
It was never like this before.
I never needed anyone before.

And finally Moran makes a move
and there is no putting it off
and I heard Mary died
and I can't keep running
when you need me.

And so I travel back and here you are,
looking just the same, only older,
and I fear I will look so different you won't recognize me
because I am not the man who left you.
perhaps I've learned something since then.

And when I appear again from death
I cannot read the look on your face
before you faint.
and when you wake, I tell you flippantly
of those awful years when I had no reason to live but the hope of this day.

And I really should have expected that you'd be angry
and I don't blame you
and the ink pools on the page
silently scolding me
telling me to make words from black tears.

And Watson, you are
the best and wisest man I've ever known
because you forgave me
and I don't think I could ever be
That good.

back to fic index